Funnel asking for phone number - what do you think?

funnel asking for phone number - what do you think?
Jason Gerald
51  / 4
36 posts / 9 likes

Just wanted to get people's option on a funnel that captures the name, email and phone #. Do you guys recommend capturing phone # so you can follow up the customers?

Just wanted to know what other people think about this strategy...

Posted 9 Sep 2018 at 06:59
Michael Kyle
176 posts / 29 likes

Hi Jason.

I would not ask for a phone number for 2 main reasons. First, if you call them you are in violation of the anti-spam laws here in the US. Even if they provided it on your form.

You can only call them if they have made a purchase from you prior. Do research this for yourself as I'm not a lawyer. Second, 75+% of people that enter a number will give a fake one because they don't know you and most people don't want to be called. Asking for name/email and phone really lowers your optin rate too.

As a rule of thumb, the less info you ask for the higher optin rate you'll get. I ask for first name & email so I can personalize the followup emails. When I ask for just the person's email I get an even higher optin rate.

Posted 9 Sep 2018 at 07:09
James
1332  / 36
453 posts / 156 likes

You could ask for email only on the optin page, then ask for phone and additional info on the next page.

Posted 9 Sep 2018 at 07:14
Jason Gerald
51  / 4
36 posts / 9 likes
Michael Kyle on 09 Sep 2018 at 07:09

Hi Jason.

I would not ask for a phone number for 2 main reasons. First, if you call them you are in violation of the anti-spam laws here in the US. Even if they provided it on your form.

You can only call them if they have made a purchase from you prior. Do research this for yourself as I'm not a lawyer. Second, 75+% of people that enter a number will give a fake one because they don't know you and most people don't want to be called. Asking for name/email and phone really lowers your optin rate too.